I’m A Goner, Somebody Catch My Breath

So… I moved. I no longer live in a little island in the Caribbean. Now I live in West Virginia since I’m starting my master’s degree at WVU. So yeah, I’ve been QUITE elusive… but I have a valid excuse for this one.

When you are about to move, I don’t think it’s easy to sit down and write about whatever, whenever. There were times I did ponder on what to write, but my stress got to me. Why should I write when I should be packing; when I should be spending time with my mom, dad, cousins, heck! my dogs!! Then the day comes and you’ve got to say goodbye to everything and,  as difficult as it was, I’ve been strong.

Until today…

I live five minutes away from the university. Heaven, right? I said, “This is a glorious piece of cake.” Yeah, until today that I walked to the university.

For starters, I’m completely out of shape. So walking just a little bit is a bit of a challenge for me. But heck, I don’t mind the walking. I gotta exercise some way or another. No, you see, the thing is there’s stairs. And sweet baby Jesus!!! Those are a lot of stairs. I thought I’d die today. I lost my breath and I swear I was a goner. That’s when the fears and anxieties kick in. I mean, I gotta take these stairs everyday starting next Monday. Will I be able to do it? Will I look so ridiculous going up the stairs that even my students will see me and think “seriously? This is my instructor?” Well, fyi! Not my fault, peeps!!! I have a lot of catching up to do in the exercising department, so gimme a break.

Silly, I know…

But then, it gets a little more serious for me. Because when the climbing stops, I come back home letting my mind jump ahead to the future thinking, “I’m a freakin’ goner.” I moved for the first time, I’m lost, I’m scared of the outcome, I’m nervous and anxious…. AND on top of it all, I still have to remind myself that, one way or another I have to do this…

And what do you know? Twenty One Pilots has a song kinda about that.

So, “though I’m weak and beaten down, I’ll slip away into this sound.”

I have a lot of catching up to do, my friends. Gotta catch up with my studies, this blog, my exercising, my life… everything. But I can’t do it in the blink of an eye. I need time. I need patience. I need to be strong and think that I WILL slip away into the sounds of triumph, some day, one way or another. I just have to try.

Here’s my favorite cover of the song. Enjoy.

Daily Prompt Pingback: Elusive

3 thoughts on “I’m A Goner, Somebody Catch My Breath

Leave a Reply

