Annie, Are You Okay?

I guess the first thing that pops into your head when you hear a word or a phrase kinda defines your personality, or who you are, or how you think and such. In my case, I always think of a song. It’s inevitable. If you say something that sounds like I song that I’ve heard somewhere, I will automatically sing it or mention it. It’s a part of being me. My friends know this and are used to it by now. They know that if I don’t sing something that was related to what they said, something is wrong. Like I said, it’s a part of me. It defines me. So when you ask, “what can you tell me about smooth?” I automatically hear the Michael Jackson scream and the beginning of his song “Smooth Criminal.” I was never a big Michael Jackson fan. I barely know his songs, only the most famous ones, and yet that was the first thing that popped into my head.

So, now that I’m new to this, I’d really like to try this out: Every day (or week, I’m still thinking about it) I will try to post my favorite cover of the song that the prompt reminded me of.  Or maybe not. I don’t know. Let’s see how this goes.

Today it’s “Smooth Criminal,” and my favorite cover is the Glee performance by Naya Rivera and Grant Gustin accompanied by the 2Cellos guys.

I really love the 2Cellos cover of “Smooth Criminal” and although I never watched the Glee series, my cousin always kept me up to date with the drama and, of course, the best performances. This was one of them. I was mind blown with the fact that the 2Cellos’ awesome cover was being performed in this episode. And it wasn’t just the cello guys, but Naya and Grant’s singing was great. The scene was supposed to be a duel. As a singer myself, (well, singer a long long time ago…) I fell in love with Naya’s voice. So in my view, she won. And besides, Sebastian Smythe seemed like a bully, so he wasn’t all that for me. But that’s just my opinion. Who do you think won this duel?

Daily Prompt Pingback: Smooth

3 thoughts on “Annie, Are You Okay?

  1. Great post! Thank you for including the Glee-version of Smooth Criminal, I love it! I also sing all the time and quite often it gets prompted by a word, a sentence, og simply something I see. The problem though – is that I can’t sing to save my life ;-p

    • Exactly!! 😀 Amazing how simple words can trigger us into a musical. haha Also, I remember that someone once told me that everybody sings. You see, at the end of the day, we all sing in the shower be it good, bad, or just plain scary. hahaha so no matter what, sing to your heart’s content, my friend! 😉

Leave a Reply

