Significant Books

Not pretty enough

A few months ago on Facebook, everyone was posting a list of the different books or great works of literature that have affected you in one way or another. While I’m probably a novice book lover myself,—this according to very picky people—I only listed eight books that although it may be a brief list, I can assure you it is great in content and meaning.

The instructions were as follows: “don’t take more than a few minutes and do not think too hard. they do not have to be the “right” books or great works of literature, just ones that have affected you in some way. tag ten friends including me so I can see your list.”

My first book was The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry. This is a classic, without a doubt. It is in fact one of my favorite children’s book of all time. And I think everyone who has read it will carry the fox’s secret for the rest of their lives. ❤ Oh! Fun fact, my second tattoo was inspired by this book.

The Second book was A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness, a book that I recommend to every single person out there. It’s the first book that has made me cry for literally ten minutes non-stop after reading it and it’s one of my favorite books for the great impact it’s had on my life.

The third book was Flowers for Algernon by Daniel Keyes. This book was recommended by an old friend of mine. It’s a great book. It’s sad and well, it’s social criticism is amazing.

The fourth book was The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky. I never knew what this book was really about. It was a quick pace read, and by the time I finished, I had cried too much and discovered that a part of me was Charlie. In a way, I found that I also have always been a Wallflower.

The fifth book was Oh, the Places You’ll Go! by Dr. Seuss.  Not a children’s book! It’s a short, sweet, and simple read with an incredible meaning behind it. It’s my inspiration day after day. This book has really changed me and the way I see life.

The sixth book was Jonathan Livingston Seagull by Richard Bach. Just as Oh, the Places You’ll Go!, this book has been an inspiration for me. It has taught me so much about perseverance and about never giving up. This is also one of my mom’s favorite books. That’s why both my mom and Jonathan have reminded me that I can never give up.

The seventh book was The Drowning of Stephan Jones by Bette Greene. My twelfth grade teacher recommended it, and since then it’s been a very important book in my bookshelf. It’s a reminder of how cruel life can be with those who are just different.

Finally, the eighth book, and the most recently read, was Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz. It was recommended by a new friend of mine who from the very first moment we met he took me under his wing teaching me not just about our work, but also about books, movies, music, and life itself. He’s a brilliant and intellectual human being, but most importantly, he’s an amazing friend. When he recommended this story, I never knew it would impact me the way it did. For me, this book is a reminder that it doesn’t matter how much society teaches us to be a certain way, we can’t deny who we are. It reminds me of the struggles we face when trying to find out who we are and why we are meant to be here. I simply loved it and I wholeheartedly thank my friend for recommending it.

There are many other books that I love, or that have impacted me in one way or another. But quite frankly, these were the ones that came to the top of my head once I started this list. I really love reading. It’s peaceful and the things you learn from a book are just inspiring.

Aristotle and Dante

So, which are your favorite books?

Until our next time, my friends,

Adieu 😉

Leave a Reply

